Tuesday, 10.10.2006 / 12:00 AM ET / News
New York Islanders
Share with your Friends

Islanders at Los Angeles

(10:30 p.m. ET, TV: FSNY | Radio: Bloomberg 1130)  The opening road trip continues tonight in Los Angeles as the Islanders take on the Kings at the Staples Center.

The Islanders look to bounce back from consecutive losses as they take on a Kings team they last played on February 16, 2004 at the Nassau Coliseum. In that game, Rick DiPietro came away as the First Star of the game, stopping 29 shots in a 1-1 tie. Arron Asham scored the lone Islanders goal and is one of only five remaining Islanders who participated in that game; DiPietro, Shawn Bates, Jason Blake and Trent Hunter were the other four. The Islanders hold the all-time series lead 41-36-12.

Based on the off-day practice, Ted Nolan appears to be going with a similar forward lineup as Saturday's against San Jose with Alexei Yashin centering Viktor Kozlov and Andy Hilbert, Mike Sillinger alongside Trent Hunter and Miroslav Satan, Shawn Bates with Jason Blake and Richard Park, and Mike York on a line with, most likely, Arron Asham and Chris Simon.

Los Angeles dropped its season opener in Anaheim 4-3 on Friday, but won the following night in Los Angeles against St. Louis, 4-1. Their leading scorer in the early going is freshman center Anze Kopitar from Jesenice, Slovenia. His five points after two games places him first among rookies. Lubomir Visnovsky, who was tied for fourth among defensemen in points last year, is leading the Kings defense again in scoring this year, tallying two goals in two games.

The Kings have started both netminders on their roster: Dan Cloutier and Mathieu Garon, but are likely to go with Garon tonight because he earned the win against St. Louis, allowing one goal on 36 shots. Cloutier, meanwhile, allowed four goals on 32 shots, to pick up the loss against Anaheim.


1   Mike Dunham
39 Rick DiPietro

3   Tom Poti 
4   Joel Bouchard
6   Sean Hill
8   Bruno Gervais
24 Radek Martinek
32 Brendan Witt
77 Alexei Zhitnik

7 Trent Hunter
10 Richard Park 
11 Andy Hilbert
12 Chris Simon
15 Jeff Tambellini
16 Mike York
17 Shawn Bates
18 Mike Sillinger
25 Viktor Kozlov
45 Arron Asham
55 Jason Blake
79 Alexei Yashin
81 Miroslav Satan


31 Mathieu Garon
39 Dan Cloutier

3   Aaron Miller
4   Rob Blake
5   Brent Sopel
14 Mattias Norstrom
17 Lubomir Visnovsky
28 Oleg Tverdovsky
38 Kevin Dallman

7   Derek Armstrong  
11 Anze Kopitar   
12 Patrick O'Sullivan    
13 Michael Cammalleri  
15 Jeff Cowan 
19 Sean Avery 
21 Brian Willsie
22 Craig Conroy 
23 Dustin Brown  
24 Alexander Frolov
27 Scott Thornton


J. Tavares 82 38 48 5 86
K. Okposo 60 18 33 -8 51
R. Strome 81 17 33 23 50
F. Nielsen 78 14 29 8 43
B. Nelson 82 20 22 6 42
A. Lee 76 25 16 9 41
J. Bailey 70 15 26 3 41
N. Leddy 78 10 27 18 37
J. Boychuk 72 9 26 15 35
T. Hamonic 71 5 28 15 33
J. Halak 38 17 4 .914 2.43
C. Johnson 8 8 1 .889 3.08 is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use