Former Black Bear inducted into the University of Maine Hall of Fame

Friday, 09.10.2010 / 5:10 PM ET / News
Share with your Friends

ORONO, Maine – Former men’s ice hockey goalie Mike Dunham highlight the 2010 University of Maine Sports Hall of Fame class which will be inducted on September 24.
Dunham ’93 was part of a goaltending duo that led Maine to its first-ever national championship in men’s ice hockey during the 1992–1993 season.
Dunham was part of a goaltending duo during the 1992–1993 season when he earned First Team All-American, First Team All-New England and First Team All-Hockey East honors. He shared goaltending duties with Garth Snow and helped lead Maine to its first-ever National Championship. He earned the Howard Neville Rookie of the Year team award in 1990–91. He played for the US Olympic Team in 1992, 1994 and 2002. He earned a silver medal with the 2002 team. Dunham played 10 years in the NHL including stints with the New York Rangers, Nashville Predators, New Jersey Devils and the New York Islanders. He currently serves as goaltending coach with the New York Islanders.
The criteria for selection into the Hall of Fame is achievement in the athletic program, but other factors are also considered. They include character, leadership and integrity, as well as non-athletic service to the University community and achievement later in life.
The six will be inducted on September 24, 2010. The honorees will be recognized at halftime of the Maine football game against William and Mary the following day which begins at  6 PM. There will be a reception in the Hall of Fame lobby of Memorial Gym on Sept. 24 at 6 pm, with a program starting at 6:15. A buffet meal will be served at 7 PM at Wells Conference Center, followed by the induction ceremony. Tickets to the banquet are $35 and may be purchased at the Maine ticket office by calling 207-581-BEAR.

Release courtesy of the University of Maine Sports Information Department


2014-2015 PLAYOFFS
J. Tavares 7 2 4 2 6
J. Bailey 7 2 3 1 5
N. Leddy 7 0 5 0 5
R. Strome 7 2 2 1 4
K. Okposo 7 2 1 1 3
C. Clutterbuck 7 2 1 1 3
B. Nelson 6 2 0 1 2
F. Nielsen 7 1 1 -1 2
N. Kulemin 7 1 1 0 2
L. Visnovsky 4 0 2 5 2
J. Halak 3 4 1 .926 2.30
M. Neuvirth 0 0 0 1.000 0.00

NewYorkIslanders.com is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and NewYorkIslanders.com are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster |  NHL.com Terms of Use