• RSS

Blue Oyster Cult to play free concert in support of new arena

Wang & Mangano among speakers scheduled for July 27 event

Wednesday, 07.20.2011 / 5:18 PM ET / News
New York Islanders
Share with your Friends

Blue Oyster Cult to play free concert in support of new arena
The New York Islanders announced today that Long Island’s own, Blue Oyster Cult will play a free concert in support of a new arena on Wednesday, July 27. The show will start at 4 p.m. on the plaza outside of the Nassau Coliseum Box Office. Randy Jackson, the lead vocalist of the Long Island based band Zebra, will open. Islanders Players Matt Moulson and Ty Wishart will also be in attendance along with Islanders alumni.

The classic rock legends are one of the many bands that have head-lined the Nassau Coliseum over the last 40 years. Blue Oyster Cult will play from their wide collection of hits, including “Burnin’ For You”, “Don’t Fear the Reaper” and “Godzilla.”

“We’re really looking forward to playing the Nassau Coliseum again. It’s the building closest to home for us. We support the effort to get people to vote yes for a new arena,” said Blue Oyster Cult lead-singer, Eric Bloom. “We played many great shows there and living in Nassau County, we all know this area needs a new building that can become a true destination for concert goers, families and hockey fans.”

Roger and JP, of the WBAB Long Island Rock’N’Roll Morning Show are set to emcee the free concert. In addition, numerous speakers, including Islanders Owner Charles Wang, County Executive Ed Mangano, Long Island Federation of Labor President John Durso and Building and Trades Council Chief Jim Castellane will address the crowd.

Current and former Islanders players will attend the event to meet fans and sign autographs, as will members of the Islanders Ice Girls. This family-friendly event will also feature games and inflatables, set up by the Islanders Community Events (I.C.E.) Tour.




J. Tavares 78 33 37 6 70
K. Okposo 79 22 42 -4 64
F. Nielsen 81 20 32 1 52
B. Nelson 81 26 14 -3 40
N. Leddy 81 5 35 -9 40
A. Lee 80 15 21 -2 36
J. Bailey 81 12 20 -7 32
C. Cizikas 80 8 21 4 29
R. Strome 71 8 20 -9 28
M. Grabovski 58 9 16 3 25
T. Greiss 23 11 4 .925 2.36
J. Halak 18 13 4 .919 2.30
Pro Shops
Islanders TV
Iceworks is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use