• RSS

Sound Tigers 3, Falcons 2 (SO)

Niederreiter and DeFazio score in regulation and Ullstrom nets the shootout winner as Bridgeport continues its hot start

Saturday, 10.27.2012 / 10:23 PM ET / News
By Jamie Palatini
Share with your Friends

Sound Tigers 3, Falcons 2 (SO)


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (Oct. 27, 2012) – Kevin Poulin turned aside 32 shots in regulation and overtime, and David Ullstrom scored the game-winning tally in the seventh round of the shootout as the Bridgeport Sound Tigers defeated the Springfield Falcons 3-2 at the MassMutual Center on Saturday night. With the win, the Sound Tigers improve to 4-1-0-0. The Falcons record now stands at 4-1-0-1.

Neither team scored in the opening 20 minutes of the game, but both sides had ample opportunities to get on the scoreboard. Poulin and Falcons goaltender Paul Dainton made spectacular saves in the first period, and each goaltender made 10 saves to keep the game scoreless after one period.

Springfield’s Cam Atkinson gave the Falcons the lead 3:49 into the second period when he fired a snap shot from the slot past Poulin for his third goal of the season. However, the Sound Tigers answered quickly with two goals to take the lead. Following a Cody Goloubef elbowing penalty. Brandon DeFazio deflected a Jon Landry point shot past Dainton for his third goal of the year to tie the game 1-1 at 6:12 of the middle frame. Just 2:20 later, the Sound Tigers grabbed the lead when Nino Niederreiter put a rebound home for his fourth goal of the season to put Bridgeport ahead 2-1.

The Falcons drew even with 4:56 left in the second stanza when Tomas Kubalik deflected Goloubef’s point shot off a broken play to make the score 2-2. The score stayed even through the third period, despite the two teams combining for 25 shots and Springfield earning two power play opportunities. The Sound Tigers had the best chance to end the game in overtime, but Matt Donovan’s attempt from point blank range was stopped by Dainton with just over one minute left in the extra session, and the game went to a shootout.

Atkinson beat Poulin to open the bonus round, but Colin McDonald fired over Dainton’s glove in the bottom half of the second round to even the shootout at one. Ryan Johansen answered with a goal in third round, and John Persson backhanded a shot past Dainton to even the bonus round once again headed to the fifth round. Nick Drazenovic beat Poulin to begin the sixth round, but Casey Cizikas answered to extended the shootout, slipping a backhand shot through Dainton’s legs. Poulin made a sprawling save to deny Kubalik, followed by Ullstrom’s backhander over Dainton to win the game for the Sound Tigers.

Dainton made 36 saves in the loss, but earned first star honors in front of the home crowd. Aaron Ness recorded assists on both Sound Tigers goals.

The Sound Tigers close out their road trip Sunday afternoon when they travel back to DCU Center and try to avenge Friday’s loss to the Worcester Sharks. Game time is set for 3:00 p.m.

Three Stars
1. SPR: Paul Dainton
2. BRI: Kevin Poulin
3. BRI: David Ullstrom

Bridgeport Sound Tigers
22 Nino Niederreiter – 11 Casey Cizikas – 13 Colin McDonald
42 Brandon DeFazio – 29 Brock Nelson – 23 John Persson
24 David Ullstrom – 28 Johan Sundstrom – 16 Sean Backman
72 Jason Clark – 14 Matt Watkins – 20 Blair Riley

46 Matt Donovan – 6 Ty Wishart
27 Aaron Ness – 7 Jon Landry
15 Marc Cantin – 3 Travis Hamonic

38 Kevin Poulin (starter)
30 Ken Reiter

Springfield Falcons
18 Tomas Kubalik – 9 Ryan Johansen – 22 Jonathan Audy-Marchessault
11 Matt Calvert – 10 Nick Drazenovic – 13 Cam Atkinson
12 Ryan Craig – 24 Andrew Joudrey – 26 Cody Bass
20 Ryan Russell – 16 Michael Chaput – 14 Jake Hansen

5 Nick Holden – 6 David Savard
7 John Moore – 27 Cody Goloubef
19 Greg Amadio – 3 Tim Erixon

31 Paul Dainton (starter)
30 Curtis McElhinney




J. Tavares 82 38 48 5 86
K. Okposo 60 18 33 -8 51
R. Strome 81 17 33 23 50
F. Nielsen 78 14 29 8 43
B. Nelson 82 20 22 6 42
A. Lee 76 25 16 9 41
J. Bailey 70 15 26 3 41
N. Leddy 78 10 27 18 37
J. Boychuk 72 9 26 15 35
T. Hamonic 71 5 28 15 33
J. Halak 38 17 4 .914 2.43
C. Johnson 8 8 1 .889 3.08 is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use