• RSS

Three Islanders Selected To Represent Their Country At 2013 U-20 World Junior Championship

Ryan Strome, Griffin Reinhart and Ville Pokka will play in the 10-team tournament beginning later this month in Ufa, Russia

Friday, 12.14.2012 / 10:05 AM ET / News
New York Islanders
Share with your Friends

Three Islanders Selected To Represent Their Country At 2013 U-20 World Junior Championship
The 2013 World Junior Championship will mark the fifth time Islanders prospect Ville Pokka has represented his native Finland in international competition (Photo: Getty Images)
Islanders prospects Ryan Strome and Griffin Reinhart have been selected to represent Team Canada at the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship in Ufa, Russia, while Ville Pokka has made the final cut for Team Finland.

The tournament, which runs from Dec. 26 – Jan. 5, will be the first for Reinhart, who has represented Canada twice in international competition, including the 2011 World U-17 Hockey Challenge and the 2011 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament. This will be Strome’s second appearance at the World Juniors. The center scored three goals and six assists in six games in last year’s tournament.

Pokka has represented Finland four other times internationally including the 2012 World Junior Tournament, where he registered one goal and three assists in seven games. He also played in the U-18 World Junior Championship in 2011 and 2012, and the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in 2011.

Canada’s announcement comes at the conclusion of its National Junior Team selection camp, which ran from Dec. 10-13 at the Markin MacPhail Centre in Calgary. A total of 36 players attended camp.

Six members of this year’s roster – Dougie Hamilton (Toronto, Ont./Niagara, OHL), Scott Harrington (Kingston, Ont./London, OHL), Jonathan Huberdeau (St-Jérôme, Que./Saint John, QMJHL), Boone Jenner (Dorchester, Ont./Oshawa, OHL), Mark Scheifele (Kitchener, Ont./ Barrie, OHL) and Strome (Mississauga, Ont./ Niagara, OHL)  - helped Canada earn the bronze medal at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship in Alberta.

Canada is part of Group B along with the United States, Germany, Russia and Slovakia. Canada’s first preliminary-round game will be Dec. 26 against Germany.

Finland, which opens preliminary-round play against Latvia on Dec. 26, will compete in Group A with Sweden, the Czech Republic, Switzerland and Latvia. Pokka helped Finland place fourth at last year's WJC after losing 4-0 to Canada in the bronze medal game. Finland is seeking its first medal since 2006 when it earned bronze.

Tournament schedule

Jordan Binnington, Owen Sound Attack (OHL)
Jake Paterson, Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
Malcolm Subban, Belleville Bulls (OHL)

Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Scott Harrington, London Knights (OHL)
Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
Xavier Ouellet, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada (QMJHL)
Griffin Reinhart, Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)
Morgan Rielly, Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL)
Tyler Wotherspoon, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)

Anthony Camara, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Phillip Danault, Victoriaville Tigres (QMJHL)
Jonathan Drouin, Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
Charles Hudon, Chicoutimi Saguenéens (QMJHL)
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
J.C. Lipon, Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
Nathan MacKinnon, Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Oklahoma City Barons (AHL)
Ty Rattie, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Brett Ritchie, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Mark Scheifele, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)

Janne Juvonen, Pelicans Lahti
Joonas Korpisalo, Jokerit Helsinki
Eetu Laurikainen, Swift Current Broncos (WHL)

Henri Auvinen, JYP Jyväskylä
Petteri Lindbohm, Jokerit Helsinki
Esa Lindell, Jokerit Helsinki
Olli Määttä, London Knights (OHL)
Ville Pokka, Kärpät Oulu
Juuso Riikola, KalPa Kuopio
Rasmus Ristolainen, TPS Turku
Juuso Vainio, HPK Hämeenlinna
Mikko Vainonen, Kingston Frontenacs (OHL)
Joonas Valkonen, Espoo Blues

Miro Aaltonen, Espoo Blues
Joel Armia, Ässät Pori
Aleksander Barkov, Tappara Tampere
Markus Granlund, HIFK Helsinki
Henrik Haapala, Tappara Tampere
Markus Hännikäinen, Jokerit Helsinki
Henri Ikonen, Kingston Frontenacs (OHL)
Juuso Ikonen, Espoo Blues
Ville Järveläinen, Peliitat Heinola
Matti Lamberg, Jokerit Helsinki
Artturi Lehkonen, KalPa Kuopio
Robert Leino, HPK Hämeenlinna
Thomas Nykopp, HIFK Helsinki
Saku Salminen, Jokerit Helsinki
Miikka Salomäki, Kärpät Oulu
Teuvo Teräväinen, Jokerit Helsinki





J. Tavares 78 33 37 6 70
K. Okposo 79 22 42 -4 64
F. Nielsen 81 20 32 1 52
B. Nelson 81 26 14 -3 40
N. Leddy 81 5 35 -9 40
A. Lee 80 15 21 -2 36
J. Bailey 81 12 20 -7 32
C. Cizikas 80 8 21 4 29
R. Strome 71 8 20 -9 28
M. Grabovski 58 9 16 3 25
T. Greiss 23 11 4 .925 2.36
J. Halak 18 13 4 .919 2.30
Pro Shops
Islanders TV
Iceworks is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use