• RSS

Niederreiter and Donovan Named All-Stars

Thursday, 01.17.2013 / 5:45 PM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Niederreiter and Donovan Named All-Stars

The Bridgeport Sound Tigers, in conjunction with the American Hockey League, announced today that forward Nino Niederreiter and defenseman Matt Donovan will represent the Sound Tigers at the 2013 Dunkin' Donuts AHL All-Star Classic in Providence, R.I. on Jan. 27-28.

Niederreiter, 20, earns his first All-Star appearance in his first full season in the American Hockey League. The Chur, SUI native leads the Sound Tigers in goals (19), assists (17), points (36), and power play goals (8). Niederreiter was selected by the New York Islanders in the first round (5th overall) of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft.

Donovan, 22, makes his first AHL All-Star appearance after posting 19 points (six goals, 13 assists) in 37 games over the first half of the 2012-13 campaign. The Edmond, OK native recorded 45 points (10 goals, 35 assists) last season, earning him 2011-12 AHL All-Rookie First Team honors. Donovan was originally selected by the New York Islanders in the fourth round (96th overall) of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.

Each team comprises 24 players: 13 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. Rosters were determined by committees of AHL coaches, and all 30 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

Luke Richardson of the Binghamton Senators and Jon Cooper of the Syracuse Crunch will coach the Eastern Conference All-Star team; Dallas Eakins of the Toronto Marlies and Jeff Daniels of the Charlotte Checkers will guide the Western Conference club.

Beginning Friday and until Jan. 24, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2013 AHL All-Star Game by visiting and completing the official CCM AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. Voters will also be entered to win prizes of a team-signed 2013 AHL All-Star stick (two) and team-signed 2013 AHL All-Star commemorative programs (10).




J. Tavares 82 38 48 5 86
K. Okposo 60 18 33 -8 51
R. Strome 81 17 33 23 50
F. Nielsen 78 14 29 8 43
B. Nelson 82 20 22 6 42
A. Lee 76 25 16 9 41
J. Bailey 70 15 26 3 41
N. Leddy 78 10 27 18 37
J. Boychuk 72 9 26 15 35
T. Hamonic 71 5 28 15 33
J. Halak 38 17 4 .914 2.43
C. Johnson 8 8 1 .889 3.08 is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use