Vote for the Top Goal of the 2013 Season: Day 4

Fan voting begins August 12 to decide what was the best goal of the Islanders 2013 season

Thursday, 08.15.2013 / 12:00 PM ET / Top Goals of 2013
New York Islanders
Share with your Friends

Vote for the Top Goal of the 2013 Season: Day 4
Update 8/16: Thomas Hickey has advanced, and will face Josh Bailey in the semi-finals. On Monday, August 19, we'll begin the second round with a matchup between John Tavares and Michael Grabner. Thanks for voting!

Thomas Hickey 2/21 at MTL: 59%
Kyle Okposo 5/5 vs. PIT: 41% has selected the nine goals from the Islanders 2013 season, and it's up to you, the fans, to decide which will move on in our tournament bracket. Come back daily beginning August 12 to select each day's winner, and on August 22, we'll unveil which goal you've selected as the best of 2013. Voting runs from 12:00 p.m. to 11:59 p.m. each day.

Today, the voting is between Kyle Okposo's short-handed goal during Game 3 of the Conference Quarterfinals against Pittsburgh, and Thomas Hickey's overtime game-winner from Feb. 21 at Montreal. Only one will advance to the semi-finals.

Kyle Okposo - May 5 vs. Pittsburgh

With the Islanders on the penalty kill trailing 4-2 in the third period, Frans Nielsen took the puck out of the defensive zone and spun to find Okposo streaking down the middle. Okposo corraled the puck on the breakaway and deked around Marc-Andre Fleury.

Thomas Hickey - Feb. 21 at Montreal

After coming back from two separate two-goal deficits, the Islanders forced overtime, where John Tavares led a 3-on-2 attack into the Montreal zone. A falling Tavares pushed the puck to Michael Grabner, who found Hickey just outside the crease for his first NHL goal.

Voting schedule for Top Goals of 2013:
August 12: John Tavares (2/23) vs. John Tavares (3/14) vs. John Tavares (5/7)
August 13: Matt Moulson (2/11) vs. Michael Grabner (1/21)
August 14: Josh Bailey (4/1) vs. Josh Bailey (4/6)
August 15: Kyle Okposo (5/7) vs. Thomas Hickey (2/21)

August 19-20: Semi-finals
August 21: Finals




J. Tavares 78 33 37 6 70
K. Okposo 79 22 42 -4 64
F. Nielsen 81 20 32 1 52
B. Nelson 81 26 14 -3 40
N. Leddy 81 5 35 -9 40
A. Lee 80 15 21 -2 36
J. Bailey 81 12 20 -7 32
C. Cizikas 80 8 21 4 29
R. Strome 71 8 20 -9 28
M. Grabovski 58 9 16 3 25
T. Greiss 23 11 4 .925 2.36
J. Halak 18 13 4 .919 2.30
Pro Shops
Islanders TV
Iceworks is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use