My Islanders Account


  • RSS

Voting open for Bob Nystrom Award

Annual award presented since 1991 to the Islander who best exemplifies leadership, hustle and dedication

Thursday, 02.26.2015 / 10:15 AM ET / News
New York Islanders
Share with your Friends

Voting open for Bob Nystrom Award

First awarded in 1991 to Brent Sutter, the honor is dedicated to “Mr. Islander.” Including the postseason, Nystrom played 1,057 games for the Islanders from 1972 through 1986, but is most remembered for the 1980 Stanley Cup clinching overtime goal.

Last season, forward Matt Martin won his third consecutive Nystrom Award. Martin led the NHL in hits for the third consecutive season.

“I pride myself on being a hard-working player,” Martin said upon receiving the award in 2013. “There are definitely a lot of guys in the room that could have won it, but I’m honored to have my name on that trophy.”

Forward Frans Nielsen is the last Islander not named Matt Martin to receive the honor, as won the award during the 2010-11 season after leading the team with a plus-13 rating.

“It’s something I’m proud of,” Nielsen said. “I’ve always tried to be a guy that competes hard every night, so it’s awesome that the fans see that in my style of play.”

Click here to cast your vote for the 2014-15 Bob Nystrom Award.

Past Winners:

2013-14 Matt Martin 2001-02 Steve Webb
2012-13 Matt Martin 2000-01 Dave Scatchard
2011-12 Matt Martin 1999-2000 Claude Lapointe
2010-11 Frans Nielsen 1998-99 Claude Lapointe
2009-10 Kyle Okposo 1997-98 Rich Pilon
2008-09 Tim Jackman 1996-97 Claude Lapointe
2007-08 Richard Park 1995-96 Dan Plante
2006-07 Trent Hunter 1993-94 Steve Thomas
2005-06 Kevin Colley 1992-93 Benoit Hogue
2003-04 Adrian Aucoin 1991-92 Ray Ferraro
2002-03 Jason Blake/Garth Snow 1990-91 Brent Sutter




J. Tavares 78 33 37 6 70
K. Okposo 79 22 42 -4 64
F. Nielsen 81 20 32 1 52
B. Nelson 81 26 14 -3 40
N. Leddy 81 5 35 -9 40
A. Lee 80 15 21 -2 36
J. Bailey 81 12 20 -7 32
C. Cizikas 80 8 21 4 29
R. Strome 71 8 20 -9 28
M. Grabovski 58 9 16 3 25
T. Greiss 23 11 4 .925 2.36
J. Halak 18 13 4 .919 2.30
Pro Shops
Islanders TV
Iceworks is the official Web site of the New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and are trademarks of New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy |  AdChoices |  Terms of Use |  Contact  Us |  Employment |  Webmaster | Terms of Use