Islanders 3, Senators 2 (OT)

Cory Wright | Tuesday, 12.02.2014 / 10:43 PM

Thomas Hickey’s overtime winner cemented Jaroslav Halak into the franchise record books, as the Islanders beat the Ottawa Senators 3-2 Tuesday night at Nassau Coliseum.

The win was Halak’s 10th consecutive victory, which ties Billy Smith’s 32-year-old record for the longest streak in Islanders history.

“It’s a team effort,” Halak said. “it’s not only me. Tonight I wouldn’t have been able to do it without my teammates, or on any of the nights. Everybody deserves credit for it. One game at a time.”

Halak and the Islanders couldn’t have done it without Hickey, who set up the Islanders’ second goal before scoring the game-winner. In overtime, Hickey came off the point, skated around the net and threw a shot off Cody Ceci's skate and behind Sens goalie Craig Anderson. The Islanders defenseman didn’t see how it went in, but heard the horn go off, sealing the two points.

“We knew against a goaltender like that, we’d have to get pucks on net,” Head Coach Jack Capunao said. “We knew it was going to end in that fashion.”

The Islanders improved to 8-0 in overtime/shootout games and earned their seventh straight home win.

Despite outshooting the Senators 9-5 in the first period, the Islanders found themselves trailing 1-0. Mike Hoffman beat Halak with a low, long-range slap shot at 10:04. The Islanders pressed, but didn’t come up with the equalizer until the last 1:34 of the second period, when Brock Nelson beat Anderson high blocker on a breakaway.

“Maybe pucks weren’t going our way, but we stuck with it,” Hickey said. “We had a lot of offensive pressure and when you do that it wears teams down.”

Nelson’s goal revitalized the Islanders, who came less than one tenth of a second from taking a 2-1 lead into the second intermission. Casey Cizikas hammered a slap shot past Anderson at the buzzer, but the puck did not cross the line before the clock hit 0.0.

The Islanders carried the momentum into the third period, as Hickey stuffed the puck through the crease for Ryan Strome to tap in 67 seconds into the final frame for a 2-1 lead.

“They have defensemen that like to jump up in the play, so I think we were at our best when we got the pucks in behind them,” Strome said. “The more we did that, the better we were.”

Clarke MacArthur tied the game 10 minutes later, knocking in a Mark Stone feed at the top of the crease.

The Islanders did not come out of the win unscathed, as Travis Hamonic (upper body) and Cal Clutterbuck (lower body) left the contest. Both Hamonic and Clutterbuck are considered day-to-day.

The Islanders now travel to Ottawa for the back half of their home-and-home set with the Senators on Thursday. Puck drop is at 7:30 p.m.

Scoring Summary
1st Period
10:04OTT Mike Hoffman (8) ASST: Mika Zibanejad (4), Alex Chiasson (6) 1 - 0 OTT
2nd Period
18:26NYI Brock Nelson (11) ASST: Kyle Okposo (17) 1 - 1 Tie
3rd Period
01:07NYI SHG - Ryan Strome (5) ASST: Thomas Hickey (7), Brian Strait (2) 2 - 1 NYI
11:14OTT Clarke MacArthur (9) ASST: Mark Stone (6), Kyle Turris (12) 2 - 2 Tie
OT Period
03:06NYI Thomas Hickey (2) ASST: Matt Donovan (1), Brock Nelson (11) 3 - 2 NYI
Three Stars of the Game
Thomas Hickey
Thomas Hickey
G: 1Shots: 2
A: 1Hits: 0
PTS: 2PIM: 0
+/-: 1TOI: 23:08
Brock Nelson
Brock Nelson
G: 1Shots: 4
A: 1Hits: 1
PTS: 2PIM: 0
+/-: 2TOI: 15:16
Clarke MacArthur
Clarke MacArthur
G: 1Shots: 2
A: 0Hits: 0
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: 0TOI: 17:12
Penalty Summary
1st Period
2nd Period
19:07OTT Kyle Turris  Slashing against  Mikhail Grabovski
19:38NYI Nick Leddy  Tripping against  Clarke MacArthur
3rd Period
04:25OTT Alex Chiasson  Interference against  Ryan Strome
OT Period
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/10/2
Faceoff Wins2427
Blocked Shots1714
Penalty Minutes42
2J. CowenD00-11015:00
4C. PhillipsD0000024:12
5C. CeciD00-23018:45
7K. TurrisC01-12218:36
9M. MichalekL00-11014:45
15Z. SmithC00-12017:10
16C. MacArthurL1002017:12
17D. LegwandC0000012:23
22E. CondraR0000012:41
25C. NeilR0000011:00
27C. LazarR00-10016:38
61M. StoneR0110017:23
62E. GrybaD0011017:37
65E. KarlssonD00-13028:39
68M. HoffmanL1001015:52
74M. BorowieckiD0010021:58
90A. ChiassonR0111213:05
93M. ZibanejadC0101015:28
41C. Anderson2528.89363:06
2N. LeddyD0010220:17
3T. HamonicD00-10018:31
12J. BaileyR00-11016:32
14T. HickeyD1112023:08
15C. ClutterbuckR000105:48
17M. MartinL0010012:35
18R. StromeR1014016:25
21K. OkposoR0101020:48
27A. LeeL0002014:44
29B. NelsonL1124015:16
37B. StraitD0101020:59
44C. de HaanD00-12021:10
46M. DonovanD0121019:42
51F. NielsenC00-11016:09
53C. CizikasC0002012:41
84M. GrabovskiC0004016:21
86N. KuleminL00-10017:34
91J. TavaresC0002021:44
41J. Halak1618.88963:06